Love Begets Love

I still have the wisdom of St. Therese on my mind today!  I suppose it is partly because Friday was her feast day, and partly because I am still reading her autobiography.  Every time I read her words I am so inspired by the intensity of her deep compasion and her constant unwavering faith in God’s will. 

The following excerpt from “Story of a Soul”, illustrates just how fervent her deep love for our Lord was:

“You know, O my God, I have never desired anything but to love you, and I am ambitious for no other glory.  Your love has gone before me, and it has grown with me, and now it is an abyss whose depths I cannot fathom.  Love attracts love, and, my Jesus, my love leaps toward Yours; it would like to fill the abyss which attracts it, but alas! it is not even like a drop of dew lost in the ocean! ….O my Jesus, it is perhaps an illusion but it seems to me that You cannot fill a soul with more love than the love with which You have filled mine; it is for this reason that I dare to ask You “to love those whom you have given me with the love with which you loved me.”

The following is a prayer that I wrote a couple of months ago while feeling inspired after reading some of St. Therese’s book.   Writing has always been a very powerful type of prayer method for me in my life!

You Lord

Pierce my heart

Pierce my soul

with Your fervent love and desire

to create in me this burning zeal for Your Truth.

Hold on tightly, never let go,

make my life a living prayer

always suspended and lifted up

in order to lift You up and out of the dark corners of our world.

A kind word, a sweet smile, a sincere thought or deed,

to never choose the easy path of comfort over charity…

to not extinguish that opportunity

to shine Your light

or to give others true sight,

through You!  Amen.

One of my favorite songs right now is called, For Love of You, by a contempary christian artist named, Audrey Assad.  It is an upbeat and uplifting song that captures so beautifully this burning zeal for God’s love!  If I could attach it to this post, I would, but unfortunatly I am not savvy enough yet!  Here are some of her inspiring lyrics:

And for love of You

I’m a sky on fire

And because of You, I come alive…

and it’s Your sacred heart within me beating

Your voice within me singing out….for love of  You…It’s all for You, Yeah!

Last night at bedtime I read a beautiful picture book to my kids titled, God’s Dream, written by Archbishop Desmond Tutu and Douglas Carlton Abrams.  On one of the pages there is a beautifully illustrated picture which shows children of all different nationalities.  The kids are all holding hands while forming a circle in the shape of a giant heart.   The words on this page beautifully sums up  my commentary on “love”!

Each of us carries a piece of God’s heart within us.

And when we love one another, the pieces of God’s heart are made whole!

“You know that our Lord does not look at the greatness or the difficulty of an action but at the love with which you do it.”  ~ St. Therese of Lisieux

2 thoughts on “Love Begets Love

  1. Mary,
    i love this prayer! I prayed it and I instantly felt closer with the Lord. It brings out just the right intention and focus. Thanks for sharing:)

Leave a Reply

