Life is a Love Story

   When I think of love, I primarily think of the organic love that a parent has for their child or grandchild.  I think of how that gift of love can transcend anything…..be it distance, illness, or time.  Love can transcend all of our long-held fears, resentments, despair, or anger…..with the help of a lot of forgiveness,wisdom, and peace.  This can all come as a result of a ton of trust and prayer. 

This is a picture of my mom holding my new baby girl Anna, the day after I gave birth to her in the summer of 2008.  It was a year and a half after my mom’s dementia diagnosis, and 8 months before she broke both of her hips and lost the use of her legs.  It was one of the last times my mom got out of her house,  being able to function relatively normally.  Just 9 months later, she would be moved into a care center, as she deteriorated fairly quickly in that short amount of time. 

 My mom loves being a grandma.  I know that the joy her grandkids bring her goes beyond any amount of confusion or sadness that she is feeling on any particular day.  One of my favorite quotes that I read recently is by Maya Angelou, “They may forget what you said, they may forget what you did, but they never forget how you made them feel!”

 The following “love” entries are from the book, God Calling.  Last winter, a friend of mine suggested this book to me, as she explained how she had been very inspired by it.  She tragically passed away last May from a very sudden reoccurrence of brain cancer, which viciously took her life within a few weeks time.  She was only 42 years old.  Her amazing example of true love and devotion to her family was and always will be extremely uplifting and inspiring!  All of the entries come from God’s perspective and have “spoken to me” or inspired me in one way or another!  God is Love!

 Life Is a Love Story

You need me.  I need you.  My broken world needs you.  Many a weary troubled heart needs you.  Many a troubled heart will be gladdened by you, drawn nearer to Me by you.  Health, Peace, Joy, Patience, Endurance, they all come from contact with Me. 

 Oh! It is a glorious way, the upward way, the wonderful discoveries, the tender intimacies, the amazing, almost incomprehensible, understanding.  Truly the Christian Life, Life with Me, is a Love story.  Leave all to Me.  All you have missed you will find in Me, the Soul’s Lover, the Soul’s Friend, Father, Mother, Comrade, Brother.  Try Me. You cannot make too many demands upon Me, nor put too great a strain upon My Love and Forbearance. Claim, claim, claim, Healing, Power, Joy, Supply what you will.

 Arm of Love

You are to help to save others.  Never let one day pass when you have not reached out an arm of love to someone a note, a letter, a visit, help in some way.   Be full of joy. Joy saves. Joy cures. Joy In Me.  In every ray of sunlight, every smile, every act of kindness, or love, every trifling service, joy…..The  helping hand is needed that raises the helpless to courage, to struggle, to faith, to health.  

Love.  Laugh.  Love and laughter are the beckoners to faith and courage.  Trust on, love on, joy on.  Refuse to be downcast.  Refuse to be checked in your upward climb.  Love and laugh.  I am with you.  I bear your burdens.  Cast your burden upon Me and I will sustain thee.  And then in very lightheartedness you turn and help another with the burden that is pressing too heavily upon him or her.  How many burdens can you lighten this year?  How many hearts can you cheer?  How many souls can you help?  And in giving you gain: “Good measure, pressed down, and running over.”

 Love Your Servants

Love, Love, Love.  Tender Love is the secret.  Love those you are training, love those who work with you, love those who serve you.  Dwell on that thought- God is love.  Link it up with My “I and My Father are one.”  Dwell on My actions on Earth.  See in them Love in operation.  If it was God who so acted, then it was Love, Perfect Love, performed those actions, those wonders.  Then you, too, must put love (God) into actions in your lives.  Perfect Love means perfect forgiveness.  Lo, My children, you see that where God is there can be no lack of forgiveness, for that is really lack of love. 

God is Love…..no judging.

God is Love…..no resentment.

God is Love…..all patience.

God is Love…..all power.

God is Love…..all supply…….Pray much for love!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Life is a Love Story

Leave a Reply

