Lifeline

 

How do you let go of someone who is still here?

How do you make peace with all the lies and fears

that have persisted all these years?

 

The bed bugs are all just in your deteriorating mind.

It’s just the very slow progression of this disease,

so very cruel and unkind.

 

The extreme dryness sets in

as you tear at your tender skin,

frantic and in pain.

 

You’re still searching for a Savior, or someone to blame.

On most days, it all just looks the same.

 

Afterall, if we focus long enough on the external,

we’ll never have to look within.

And we’ll still be stuck wondering

what could have been….

“Lifeline”

You’re watching everything you ever held on to
Slip away from you
And all you’re running from
Well it’s catching up to you Got you looking for a lifeline
Swimming in the high tide
Waiting for the daylight
To bring you home The world is too big to never ask why
The answers don’t fall straight out of the sky
I’m fighting to live and feel alive
But I can’t feel a thing without you by my side
Send me out a lifeline You’re watching everyone you ever belonged to
Walk away from you
Maybe all along you’ve been running from the truth Got you looking for a lifeline
You’re swimming in the high tide
Waiting for the daylight
To bring you home The world is too big to never ask why
The answers don’t fall straight out of the sky
I’m fighting to live and feel alive
But I can’t feel a thing without You by my side
Send me out a lifelineThere’s nothing I would change, I’d give it all away
For you again and again and over again
Everything I own is in your control

I’m looking for a lifeline
Swimming in the high tide
Waiting for the daylight
To bring me home

The world is too big to never ask why
The answers don’t fall straight out of the sky
I’m fighting to live and feel alive
But I can’t feel a thing without You by my side
Send me out a lifeline
Won’t You send me out a lifeline
Send me out a lifeline

“I will hold on hope, and I won’t let you choke on the noose around your neck….I will find strength in pain” ~Mumford and Sons

Leave a Reply

