Stay

 

I can’t take

your pains away

 

But I can 

make sure 

I refuse 

to run…

 

So I will stay.

 

Even as I fight

my urges

to escape

your suffering

confusions

and pain

 

Because I have learned

your problems

don’t go away

just because

you turn around

and close your eyes

 

If you pretend

the gaping hole

in your heart

is whole, 

 

One day,

you’ll trip up

and sink in

deep

and down so low

 

You’ll wonder

how it is

you could’ve 

never

really known…

 

So…

I will keep my sights 

way up high

 

day and night

 

And I will know

at my core

that His grace

holds us so close

 

And cuts 

clear through

all these

bitter pains

 

And gradually,

slowly,

surely,

 

renews,

rebuilds,

restores,

 

For me,

for us, 

for you.

This is a beautiful song about feeling obsolete as an older person…when you are frail, slow, and forgetful, and not very useful to anyone anymore, so it seems…(but is far from the truth)

Leave a Reply

