Never Giving Up

It has been 41 years of legalized abortion in our country. This happens to be my age, as well. For every year that I have been blessed with life, more than a million lives every year have been snuffed out in legalized killing, or “reproductive choice of termination”, or whatever the PC term that is semantically engineered in our culture these days for abortion.

I am so tired. I am tired of the justifications. I am tired of the excuses. I am tired of the lies our culture feeds us about whose rights matter, and whose rights don’t matter. I am tired of this being a “political issue”, when it is really about justifying murder. I am tired of supposedly Bible loving, Ten Commandment following Christians not standing up for the lives of unborn children, all in the holy name of “women’s rights”. What about the rights of the would have been women that were killed and then sucked out of their mother’s womb? I am tired of society and our government playing God, deciding who is worthy to live and who isn’t worthy to live.

One main justification for abortion is that a poor, possibly abusive, and irresponsible young women could not possibly be a good mother, so it would be an OK thing for that baby to be aborted. Killing, makes “sense” here for pro-choice people. It is a “necessary evil” because they believe that their crystal ball look onto the future predicts that child’s outcome in life. They want to protect that child from future harm, so killing it is justified in this case.

Yet, no one can predict with 100% certainty that a child born in that circumstance is destined for failure. No one can foresee how the Holy Spirit may work in the life of that young child. No one can foresee who may step into his or her life to offer love and compassion. No one can predict how that child will persevere in adversity or rise above difficult situations presented in their lives. To imply that we do, is dangerous, because it is simply playing God.

And no matter what your religious background, or philosophy of life, I think all humans can agree that in life, we reap what we sow. In eastern religions, it could be called karma. Or you could say, “what goes around, comes around”, or “you get what you give”. It is the premise that every choice and action we make has a consequence. If we use our actions, or our wills, to harm (even if it is justified harm), then we will see negative consequences. Our lives, our society, our families will suffer the consequences. If we use our actions for good, then we will have good outcomes. Love begets love. We will see hearts and lives changed for the better.

For a couple of years, I have been helping out at pregnancy crisis centers. Many of the mothers that come in are scared. They come to us because most know deep down that killing their baby is not going to solve their problems. They don’t know exactly how they will support their baby, but they know it’s not right to take away his or her chance at having a life of love. They know that going to Planned Parenthood will not give them the hope they need to figure out how they can love and support their baby. They know, because that is where their friends have gone to get their abortions, not pregnancy counseling. Most pregnancy crisis centers give free counseling, pregnancy tests, clothes, and even financial aid, which is non profit in nature.

I have had some awesome moments working there. I have taken care of toddlers while their mothers talk to a counselor. I remember one adorable Hispanic boy playing with the fetal models that show the fetal stages of development in the womb. He kept picking up the fully formed fetus dolls and saying “baby” “baby” “baby”, smiling as he did. He was playing with them, and it reminded me of how when I was pregnant I would “play” with my child too. I could push my belly a certain way & my daughters and son would kick back or hiccup in response (which was my favorite). That toddler, like all children, innately know the intrinsic value and worth of all babies, and they love them. We could all learn from them, and I felt I did that day.

My daughter and I have put together gift bags (called layette bags) filled with essential items that every new mom needs, which were received with enormous amounts of gratitude. Seeing the joy and hope in the women’s eyes is something that changes you. For a scared young women to be courageous enough to offer a chance at a life for her child, and to then be gifted with a love she could only dream of before, is very inspiring.

I guess it’s natural for those of us who work for equality and justice to sometimes get tired. It seems like what we do is making such little difference, when we see those in positions of great power have such little regard for protecting the innocent unborn. But, we must never give up being a voice for those who quite literally have no voice of their own. I may be tired, but I will never be tired enough to quit.

Proverbs 24:11-12 Rescue those who are being taken away to death; hold back those who are stumbling to the slaughter. If you say, “Behold, we did not know this,” does not he who weighs the heart perceive it? Does not he who keeps watch over your soul know it, and will he not repay man according to his work?

Leave a Reply

