Lifeline

Phone conversations with mom have become almost impossible. She refuses to wear hearing aids and she tends to accidentally push the mute button, so you can imagine the result.

So I brave through another wave of grief. Back in the day, mom and I talked on the phone almost every day. We would chat about everything and nothing. A friend to confide in, who was always ready for some loving advice. She was a positive person, always trying to find a bright spot to any issue. I wrote this last night to help me “just keep swimming” in the grief. Poetry always does that for me.

Attempting
To reach me
Across
The line

Feeble, rushed, and
Stuck
On the buttons
You can’t
Find

You mumble,
“Are you coming to get me?”

Among other
Disjointed imaginings
Floating
In your head

“That’s what the Dr said”
“Tomorrow, you take me home”
“Speak louder! I can’t hear you!”
Again
and
again
And
Again

Like trying to
Save a drowning
Swimmer;
Muffled requests,
Urgent pleas,
Save me
Save me
Save me

Screaming
“I love you, mom!”
“I’ll see you soon!”
Knowing
And seeing
It’s a I can do

A lifeline
To hold her up
So her fears
Don’t choke her
To soon

Just enough
To keep her afloat
another minute,
Or until
I’m with her again
In her
room…

One thought on “Lifeline

  1. You are a very humble, caring, talented beautiful person Mary. I have tears when I read your lovely poams. I deal with depression each & every day but it’s nothing compared to what you have. I admire you honey, God be with you,
    Love, Polly

Leave a Reply

